Writing Prompt!

It had been pouring for several hours when the rain finally let up. Without hesitation, I ran out to start my chores and look for a bite to eat. As it usually happens, I was soon distracted with climbing my favorite tree. I didn’t realize how slippery the rain had made the bark until I lost my grip fell off a branch.

Thankfully, I wasn’t hurt more than just a couple bruises, but as I rolled over to get up I saw a car speeding towards me and I realized I landed in the street that the tree reaches out over.

Before I could gather my legs under me to move, the driver of the car slammed on the brakes and skidded to a stop a mere two feet from where I lay. I jumped up and hurried to the side of the road and out of sight behind the nearest tree.

I peeked out from my hiding place and watched the car continue it’s journey. I followed along as best as I could so I might see where the driver stopped at.

Thankfully, they pulled into a driveway just a block and a half down the road. I stared intently as the driver stepped out of the car, memorizing her every feature. After she went inside, I crept close enough that I could even smell her perfume.

I didn’t know how or when, but one day I would find a way to thank her for not hitting me and for sparing my life.

 

Life went on and I kept a vigilant watch for opportunities to thank the kind lady. I slowly learned her schedule and took note of others I saw leaving and arriving from the same house.

 

Finally, three weeks after the incident, it happened! I almost didn’t notice at first, but different people had gone into her house while she wasn’t there. The only reason I did see, was they had broken a window on the back door and I ran over to find out what happened.

I hid behind the neighbor’s fence and watched through the windows as the two men went through the house looking for something that they obviously couldn’t find.

Hearing a car, I glanced toward the road and saw the kind lady turning into the driveway! I looked back to the window and saw the men had seen her as well.

Not knowing what to do, I quickly ran toward the broken window and carefully climbed through. Listening intently, I could hear one of the men in the front room breathing hard from all the searching.

I peeked around the corner and saw him crouching behind a sofa with a knife in his hand. Hearing her keys jiggling the doorknob, I threw my own safety aside and rushed the man! Leaping at his face and screaming as loud as I could made him jump back and fall down. He dropped his knife and started trying to knock me aside, but the damage my nails had already done to his face made it difficult for him to keep his eyes open and find me.

The nice lady heard our struggle and burst through the door to see what was going on. The second man came out of nowhere and began swinging at her with his own knife. She screamed and ran back out the door with the man hot on her heels. I sprang into action and ran after them, looking to see if any help was coming from the other houses.

 

Pouring on every bit of speed I could muster, I managed to race ahead of them and scrambled up the small tree in the front yard. Neither of them even noticed me, until I jumped out of the tree and landed on the man’s face! I clawed frantically while trying to hold on at the same time. Blood was flowing pretty good when I lost my grip and he finally knocked me loose. As I gathered my senses, I noticed some of the ladies’ neighbors had finally come out to help subdue the man.

I sat back out of the way as the lady stared at me curiously. After a few minutes, it dawned on her that I was the squirrel she had avoided hitting on a rainy afternoon a few weeks ago. And with that, my debt was paid.

Leave a Reply

